Goddamn this voice inside my head

I don’t know about everyone else, but I feel like I have my own personal radio station that is always playing in the back of my mind. Sometimes it’s from songs that I hear in real life, other times it’s just random stuff. But the absolute worst?

Songs that get stuck in my head! Usually these are songs I absolutely hate. For example, that song by Meatloaf “I would do anything for love” I absolutely hate that song.. but it’s kinda catchy so it sticks with me and will play on repeat for days


Turning into my parents?

As for more recent music. I hate to say it, but now I know how my parents felt when I started playing Rancid for them on road trips. I definitely have songs and certain bands from my 20s that I liked. Even a few songs from the past few years. If I had been younger, Gerard Way would have been my favorite teenage crush and soundtrack to my numerous broken heart and angry little girl moments.

But for the most part I just can’t find anything I like anymore. Maybe cuz, I’m older now and don’t relate to teenage love songs? Maybe because rap music now makes no sense to me? It seems to lack the storytelling that the older songs had. Or maybe I just can’t quite understand the slang they use nowadays or the issues that they address in a lot of songs. Maybe it just happens to everyone as they get older. They get caught up on the music they grew up listening to and they just don’t have any interest in exploring the new styles. Who knows?


What would you think my favorite music genre is?

FTR:

I know it seems like my music preference tends towards the punk rock genre given the recent songs that are featured in this list and my other posts. I definitely am a fan, out of all my phases growing up I think the punk stage was by far the one that influenced me the most. Especially with music.

BUT

I pretty much love all genres of music! I grew up listening to what my parents liked, mainly 60s and 70s bands. Stevie Nicks is still a favorite, even now. The 80s brought MTV and watching actual music videos! Madonna was another favorite, but only her early stuff when she was still slutty. Plus heavy metal hair bands! Metallica, Motley Crue, even Poison. 

The 90s were my teenage years and I went through all the phases from gangsta girl to hippie bitch. Loved Dr Dre and Snoop, fuck I remember when both albums came out. (My gangsta phase ended when I realized that I was nowhere near any ghettos 🤭) Then there was Eminem. His music was so different from most everything else and most mainstream music never addressed the stuff he rapped about. 

Of course alternative rock like Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Alice in Chains, Bush and any number of flannel shirt wearing bands were a big thing too. For a while I even had my hippie phase and an obsession with the Grateful Dead, until Jerry died on me. Ironically I liked Widespread Panic but I never quite got into Phish. Though I had lots of fun in the parking lots of their concerts! But after finding my punk rock boys, the hippie thing was immediately dropped. 

Oh! Lets not forget the girlie music, loved loved loved No Doubt and Gwen Stefani. Fiona Apple, certain songs by Tori Amos and obviously Alannis Morissette had the best break up song ever with “You Oughta Know”. Shery Crowe always was great for driving around and moping over boys. Though no band in any music genre was as good for heartbreak as my beloved Trent Reznor of NIN


The one band that seemed to transcend all the different crowds was Sublime. As a teenager, no matter who or where I was hanging out, if Sublime was put on nobody ever complained. The surfer punk kids, the downtown hard-core punks, hippie kids, country music rednecks, even the gangsta wannabes were always down with listening to Sublime. It seemed to be universally liked! 

The only exception to my love of music is country music, even though I am a sweet southern girl I never could get into it. For the most part country music is sad and depressing 😥 that song by Dixie Chicks, “Traveling Soldier” automatically makes me start horrible, ugly, snotting everywhere crying. There’s a few songs I like, but not many. The ones I do like are definitely more old school. 


2023 Soundtrack so far:

In no particular order, the current songs that have been playing in my head for the past few weeks.

  • “The answer is still no”
    No Use For A Name

    And if you were young again, would you do
    It different?
    Or make your way just trying to find
    The fiction in the fact of life?

    Try to believe the words that you said to me are true
    But something else assures me I’m not through
    Been denied so many times and so I’m told to
    Sit back and ignore the truth
    Enjoy the ride

    Never took a hand with her to school
    Take a guess then tell us who’s the fool
    And you’re not supposed to be my responsibility
    One day you’ll regain your pride
    And realise life is too short not to try
  • “Matchbook”
    Strung Out

    And it’s easy to forget your face
    And It’s easy to survive in this place without you, without you
    I just comb my hair and wash my face
    Keep straight ahead and keep my pace
    Don’t think about nothing
    I might never be alright!
    Well I got my friends I got my pen
    I got a million distractions to keep me warm
    And I know is that I’ll be alright
    And I’ll be alright
  • “Her name in blood”
    Strung Out

    And blow a kiss
    When you only think of me
    Hold my hand and fuck away this blankness of expression
    And all sorrows in between

    Her name in blood and her eyes on me
    Her deepest secret lies in front of me
    A whisper now is all that remains of me

    You’re the center of my unholy shrine
    Scar tissue in time you’re all mine
    You’re the last hint of self-control
    My last chance just walked out the door

  • “ON THE OUTSIDE”
    No Use For A Name

    I’ll see you on the outside and we’ll never be the same
    after all that’s happened what is it that we’ve gained?
    I’ve made mistakes before and never lived them down
    after all you’ve done for me I’m bound
    (Don’t say another word)

    To see you on the outside where we can both be sane
    (You’re speaking for yourself)
    I’m bleeding on the inside a place you might have been
    but now I know I’ll never be the same
  • “Vampire”
    Strung Out

    Some say in the darkest places, love can grow
    This solitary romance we’ll never know
    Well it’s this coffin break I’m staging to the road that leads me back to you
    Will be the miracle I gave up everything to only be with you
    Can’t seem to shake the loneliest curse of all
    Eternity with just a memory
    I’ve seen your picture a million times three sixes and a melody of
    Singing vice and a varice in the chains you chose to be our dress
  • “Hope”
    Descendants

    So now you want perfection
    I see your self-destruction
    You don’t know what you want
    It’s gonna take you years to find out
    I’m not giving up
    And when you’ve had enough
    You’ll take your bruised little head, and you’ll come running back to me
    You know that I’m gonna be the only one
  • IT COULDA BEEN ME”
    Social Distortion

    I got friends who are in prison
    Friends who are dead
    I’m gonna tell ya something
    That I’ve often said

    You know these things that happen
    That’s just the way it’s supposed to be
    And I can’t help but wonder
    Don’t ya know it coulda been me

    Well, I had me a good girl
    Her kisses sweeter than wine
    And I had always hoped
    That someday I’d make her mine

    But she ran off and married
    That’s just the way it’s supposed to be
    And I can’t help but wonder
    Don’t ya know it coulda been me
  • “Justified Black Eye”
    No Use For A Name

    Every single knockout dragout
    Fight they ever had.
    Apologies and dignity denied he starts to
    Laugh he starts to lie with
    Suddenly psychotic eyes.

    Every night she cried herself to sleep
    She didn’t recognize
    Her own face in the mirror black & blue,
    So afraid Intimidation like a child she hides away
    He would always try to justify what wasn’t true
  • “My right”
    Screeching Weasel

    No matter what I do to you
    It’s always one big mistake
    Well I’m sick of you, I know I’m right
    You sleazy, money-grubbing fake
    My right, my life, my mind, my soul, my body, my existence
    Means that I don’t have to listen to you
    It’s my right, ’cause I’m a human being

    I can’t believe you’re telling me
    What’s good for me, how do you know what’s good
    And I can’t believe you’re telling me
    What to believe, get away from me
    My right

    My right to say what I want
    And think the way I want to think
    My right, I want to speak my mind
    My right to yell, my right to scream
    My right, my life, my mind, my soul, my body, my existence
    Means that I don’t have to listen to you
    It’s my right, ’cause I’m a human being
  • “Antimanifesto”
    Propaghandi

    But I will remain until this self-awareness fades
    Until I defeat the purpose of this soapbox
    That you made
    That you made

    Hope, perseverance, a vision (some doubt)
    Green ink, a two-six, a bad case of big-mouth
    A sum of our parts and I’ve never laughed harder
    A song in our hearts and I’ve never laughed harder
    It don’t really matter ‘cuz nothing’s ever felt as right as this

    By the way, I stole this riff
  • “Linoleum”
    Pennywise

    Where everything important to me
    Just seems to fall right down my leg
    And onto the floor
    My closest friend linoleum

    Linoleum
    Supports my head
    Gives me something to believe

    That’s me on the beachside, combin’ the sand
    Metal meter in my hand
    Sportin’ a pocket full of change

    That’s me in the street with a violin under my chin
    Playin’ with a grin
    Singin’ gibberish

    That’s me on the back of the bus
    That’s me in the cell
    That’s me inside your head
    That’s me inside your head
  • “Nihilism”
    Rancid

    I was so full of scotch I could not stand up
    I was hittin the shots and I moved to a cup
    Release me from moral assumption
    Total rejection total destruction
    Nihilistic feelings are movin
    If you try really hard
    You’ll see right through them
    (Nihilism, nihilism, nihilism, nihilism)
    Come into the union district
    Drive down in Sharmon Palms
    White ghettos paint a picture
    Broken homes and broken bones
    Raking a path of self destruction
    Not affected by the repercusions

Leave a comment